2017 Distinguished Alumni

Neal Katz

Rabbi Neal Katz was a member of Leadership Tyler Class 19. Since partici­pating in the program, Neal has gone on to serve the community in many ways. He has served many organizations through board leadership including Hospice of East Texas, Samaritan Counseling Center of Tyler, the Tyler Cham­ber of Commerce, Discovery Science Place, P.A.T.H., and the statewide Board of the Texas Freedom Network. He was a co-founder of Art of Peace – Tyler. Neal has participated in both statewide and national associations including The Philosophical Society of Texas, Central Conference of American Rabbis, and the Brickner Fellowship. The Brickner Fellowship is a joint program of the National Jewish Center for Learning and Leadership and the Religious Action Center, and worked with rabbis from around the country to develop integration skills between religious and civic leadership. Neal has consistently shared his knowledge and talents with others. His love of music has allowed him to serve as an active song leader in member congregations, camps and religious schools around the country. He has served as an adjunct professor at TJC as well as The University of Texas at Tyler. Rabbi Katz was honored, along with Anwar Khalifa, leader of the East Texas Islamic Society, with the prestigious T.B. Butler Award for “Most Outstanding Citizen in Tyler 2004” by the Tyler Area Chamber of Commerce. In 2008, Neal received the Martin Luther King award for Non­Violent Social Change at the MLK, Jr. Day Celebration in Tyler. He was also the 2012 recipient of the W.C. Windsor Award for Outstanding Community Service by a citizen under the age of 40. Neal and Jennifer have a son, Micah, and two daughters, Lila and Rebecca. Rabbi Katz serves as the rabbi of Congregation Beth El in Tyler, TX. He and his family look forward to many years of study and friendship with the community.

Jerry Woolverton

Jerry Woolverton is President of Texas Bank and Trust – Tyler, a position he has held for thirteen years. He has thirty-four years of banking experience, all in Ty­ler and he is a Class 4 graduate of Leadership Tyler. He lectured as an adjunct instructor of finance at The University of Texas at Tyler for twenty-five years. A native of Jacksonville, Texas, Mr. Woolverton received his bachelor of business administration degree from The University of Texas at Austin in 1982 and his master of business administration degree from The University of Texas at Tyler in 1987. He is also a graduate with distinction from the Southwestern Graduate School of Banking at SMU. Mr. Woolverton’s community involvement includes service on numerous boards including the Tyler Area Chamber of Commerce, the Tyler Economic Development Council, the Tyler Junior College Foundation, Texas College, The University of Texas at Tyler Regional Advisory Council, Children’s Village, and the East Texas Symphony Orchestra Foundation. He also serves as advisory committee member for ZERO Prostate Cancer Run/Walk – Tyler. His work with the Tyler Area Chamber of Commerce includes numerous years as a member of the Contact Club, Membership Services Council Chair, Business Development Council Chair, Area Development Council Chair, Treasurer and Chamber of Commerce President. Mr. Woolverton was the 1992 recipient of the W.C. Windsor Award recognizing the outstanding young leader of Tyler, and the 1991 recipient of the Mary Howes Award recognizing outstanding achieve­ment in the Contact Club. Mr Woolverton was a 2014 Texas College Legacy Honoree and received the Texas Bank and Trust Community Spirit Award in 2013. Together, Mr. Woolverton and his wife, Kelley, have six children, Han­nah, Emma, Hayden, Brandon, Leyton, and Gracie. They are members of Grace Community Church.

  • 2000 – Linda Fleet Ferguson, Sharon Howell, Steve Roosth, Carol Lott, Jimmy Tallent, Ron Shaffer, Barbara Bass
  • 2001 – Rev. Dr. James Ballard
  • 2002 – Felicity Reedy
  • 2003 – Joey Seeber
  • 2004 – Mike Thomas, CPA
  • 2005 – Paula Anthony
  • 2007 – Don Pinkerton
  • 2008 – Gary Swindle
  • 2009 – Dawn Franks
  • 2010 – Kay Latta
  • 2011 – Mitch Andrews
  • 2012 – 25th Anniversary
  • 2013 – Donna Spann
  • 2014 – Henry Bell
  • 2015 – Shannon Dacus
  • 2016 – Brian Brandt
  • 2017 – Rabbi Neal Katz
  • 2017 – Jerry Woolverton

Latest News

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

About Leadership Tyler

Leadership Tyler is an organization serving Tyler and Smith County, Texas, through our mission of equipping leaders to enrich our community. The more than 800 graduates of our programs can be found in leadership positions throughout our region.

Copyright © 2023  Leadership Tyler  All rights reserved.

Office Information

Leadership Tyler, Inc.
315 North Broadway,
Suite 202
Tyler, TX 75702


Follow: Facebook | LinkedIn